Sounds Visual Radio
Sounds Visual Radio
Episode 38: Ben Lamdin of Nostalgia 77

Ben Lamdin first burst onto the scene in 2002, and his creations range from heavy funk, to hip-hop based beats mixed with dusty old jazz, obscuro funk and psych bits and pieces. His hard work and prolific creation process has seen many of his outstanding records being released on Tru Thoughts for over a decade. 

 This driven sound spectrum of audio offerings led to the development into the full 2007 nu-jazz orchestrated release of ‘Everything Under The Sun’ in March 2007. This hard work ethic, gifted writing talent and dedication to his music contributed towards Ben winning the ‘Jazz Album of the Year’ award at the Gilles Peterson BBC Worldwide Awards in 2006.

His cover version of The White Stripes “Seven Nation Army” with fellow Tru Thoughts artist Alice Russell has also helped bring his music to a wider audience. 2008 saw the release of Nostalgia 77’s One Offs, Remixes & B Sides album – an eclectic and stunning collection spanning jazz, hip hop, electronica, funk and more. A host of inspired collaborations on this double CD include guest vocals by eminent jazz diva Beth Rowley and remixes from Bonobo.

2014 saw the development of one of Lamdin’s most fruitful musical partnerships, with the release of the collaborative album by Prince Fatty Meets Nostalgia 77, ‘In The Kingdom Of Dub’, whose intense collision of dub and jazz won over fans of all stripes. He also achieved widespread recognition for his work as the producer of Jamie Cullum’s hit album ‘Interlude’. 

Over the last decade, he has released several widely acclaimed records, and his wildly eclectic production and composition styles ushered in a new era of forward thinking cinematic jazz.

Leave a Reply