Sounds Visual Radio
Sounds Visual Radio
Episode 81: Malcolm Catto of The Heliocentrics

Malcolm Catto is an English drummer and record producer. He is the co-founder and producer of the English psychedelic/jazz/experimental music group The Heliocentrics. They have so far released four of their own albums but have also issued collaborations with DJ Shadow, Mulatu Astatke, Lloyd Miller, Orlando Julius and Melvin Van Peebles.

Apart from his work with The Heliocentrics, Catto has taken part as a drummer in many projects including MRR-ADM, Madlib, DJ Shadow, Connie Price and the Keystones, Quantic, The Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, Redback, J. Rocc, M. Chop and The Poets of Rhythm. He has also previously released a solo album under the name Popcorn Bubblefish on the Mo Wax label in 2001.

Along with all The Heliocentrics’ releases, Catto has produced albums for Anthony Joseph, Family Atlantica, Hannah Williams & the Affirmations, Vanishing Twin and recorded the Black Focus LP from Yussef Kamaal at his vintage analog studio the “Quatermass Sound Lab” in the Dalston area of London.

Leave a Reply